gpcc off
Breaking News Gujarat Header Slider Headline News Top Stories

Congress suspended 8 MLAs for 6 years after RS election for cross-voting

Congress suspended 8 MLAs for 6 years after RS election for cross-voting

After yesterday 8th August Rajya Sabha election from Gujarat over 3 seats and finding 8 Congress MLAs Member of Legislative Assembly cross-voting against party candidate Ahmed Patel. 8 Congress MLAs violated whip given by the party. Taking a stern action against defying MLAs, today Congress suspended its 8 MLAs for 6 years from the party.

congress 8 mlas suspended
Gujarat Congress 8 MLAs suspended

The list includes following MLAs of Congress party:
Sr No           Name                                                            Constituency

  1. Mahensinh Vaghela                                                32-Bayad
  2. Amitbhai Haribhai Chaudhary                             37- Mansa
  3. Karamsibhai Virjibhai Patel                                  40-Sanand
  4. Bholabhai Bhikhabhai Gohil                                 72-Jasdan
  5. Raghavji Hansrajbhai Patel                                  77-Jamnagar Rural
  6. Dharmendrasinh Merubha Jadeja (Hakubha) 78-Jamnagar north
  7. Shankersinh Laxmansinh Vaghela                      120-Kapadvanj
  8. Chandrasinh Kanaksinh Raul (CK Rauji)          126-Godhra

However, after stiff fight and objection raised by Congress agent Shaktisinh Gohil to cancel, 2 votes of Bholabhai Gohil and Raghavji Patel for making them public and following which EC Election Commission of India treating them as cancelled Patel won by 44 votes in the RS election.

Ahmed Patel Congress on win in Rajya Sabha election: our goal is Assembly Elections

Finally Congress nominee Ahmed Patel wins Gujarat Rajya Sabha seat with 44 votes after high political drama, the Rajya Sabha (RS) polls in Gujarat. Patel is a political advisor to Congress President Sonia Gandhi, retaining his seat from the state.

From BJP Bharatiya Janata Party President Amit Shah and Union Minister Smriti Irani also won on RS seats with 46 votes each.While rebellion MLA Balwantsinh Rajput lost the election.


Despite cross-voting by 2 members of the legislative assembly (MLAs) Bholabhai Gohil and Raghavji Patel, Ahmed Patel fetched needed 44 first preference votes. Patel was banking on 44 of its 51 MLAs to support him, with the other seven being seen as supporters of the rebel Congress leader Shankersinh Vaghela.

On victory, Ahmed Patel express gratitude to his MLAs for their support.