gujarat voting
Breaking News Gujarat Header Slider Headline News Top Stories Uncategorized

Gujarat state to undergo voting for by-elections in 8 assembly seats

Gujarat state to undergo voting for by-elections in 8 assembly seats to be held tomorrow.
By elections Tomorrow for 8 Assembly seats will be held from 7 pm to 6 pm. Total 18,75,000 voters would cast their votes through 1807 polling stations in Gujarat. Instead of 1500, now 1000 people will be able to cast their votes at one polling station informed Election Commissioner Dr S Murali Krishnan.

Webcasting will be done from 900 polling booths. All arrangements of face masking and social distancing done at polling booth to follow Covid-19 guidelines.

Counting of votes to be held on 10th November.

evm vvpat sealed in gujarat
evm vvpat sealed in gujarat

Ruling BJP and opposition Congress have claimed victory over all the seats. By-elections are to be held for Abdasa, Limbdi, Morbi, Dhari, Gadha, Karjan, Dang and Kaprada seats. Eight MLAs on these seats had left the Congress party which necessitated holding of by-elections. Five of them later joined the BJP.

During Rajya Sabha elections in March this year, Congress MLAs including Pradyumansinh, JV Kakadia, Praveen Maru, Mangal Gavit and Somabhai Patel, Akshay Patel, Jitu Chaudhary and Brijesh Merja resigned. This led to by-elections on 8 seats including Abadsa, Dhari, Gadha, Dang and Limbdi, Karjan, Kaprada and Morbi. Due to which by-elections were forced on 8 seats in Gujarat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *