Breaking News Header Slider Headline News Top Stories

India to launch 25 foreign satellites from 7 countries; ISRO’s IRNSS 1F mission successful

Today, in yet another success by ISRO team, PSLV C32 Successfully Launches IRNSS 1F into the orbit. ISRO successful in yet another of the successive launches and this one towards establishing our very own GPS system.

India will launch 25 foreign satellites belonging to seven countries, with the USA topping the list in 2016-17, Rajya Sabha was informed today.

In written response to a question, Jitendra Singh, Minister of State in Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) which looks after the Department of Space, said till date 57 foreign satellites from 21 countries have been launched using the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV).

He said Antrix – the commercial arm of ISRO – has signed agreements with Algeria and Canada for launching three satellites each, four for Germany, one each for Japan and Malaysia and 12 for the USA in 2016-17.

In the last three years, from January 2013 till December 2015, ISRO launched 28 foreign satellites belonging to 13 countries, with Singapore, the United Kingdom and the USA topping the list. ISRO earned 80 million euros for the launch.