bjp wins
Breaking News Gujarat Header Slider Headline News Top Stories

Rajya Sabha Election in Gujarat: BJP wins over 3 out of 4 seats

Bharatiya Janta Party BJP clinched 3 out of 4 Rajya Sabha seats in Gujarat.

From BJP Narhari Amin, Abhay Bhardwaj, Ramilaben Bara won election while Shaktisingh Gohil won from Congress party.

Congress had fielded its spokesperson Shakti Singh Gohil and former union minister Bharat Solanki. Congress was pushing Gohil as a candidate of first-preference.

Counting of votes was halted in the evening as Congress approached Election Commission demanding that votes of two MLAs be declared as void. The Congress took exception to the votes cast by Bhupendra Singh Chudasama and Kesri Singh.

Matter of validity of Chudasama’s status as an MLA is still being deliberated on in Supreme Court of India. While Kesri Singh furnished a certificate of being unwell in spite of being in good health.

As an immediated reaction in Congress party after Rajya Sabha election yeaterday. Rajeev Satav, AICC InCharge of Gujarat tweeted All the MLAs of INC Gujarat remained united and we won, one Rajya Sabha seat from Gujarat despite BJP using money power and every illegal gimmick. It is sad to lose one seat, but our struggle and efforts will continue even more faster.