Breaking News Gujarat Header Slider Headline News Top Stories

Three BJP MPs for Rajya Sabha from Gujarat take oath today

Today Rajya Sabha chairperson M Venkaiah Naidu administered the oath or affirmation to 45 of 61 members newly elected to the upper house.

Owing to the Covid-19 pandemic, the ceremony was held inside Rajya Sabha chambers during inter-session for the first time. Other MPs who were not present for the ceremony will be administered the oath at a later date.

19 BJP MPs took oath today. BJP’s strength in the upper house has gone up, and even though the party is still short of a majority, it now has 86 MPs in the Rajya Sabha. Congress has 41 MPs in Rajya Sabha. NDA National Democratic Alliance has also gone up to 100 seats in the 245-member upper house. Parties friendly to the BJP, such as the BJD, AIADMK and the YSRCP, too saw an increase in their tally.

Oath ceremony of newly appointed three Bharatiya Janta Party BJP MPs in Rajya Sabha from Gujarat namely Narhari Amin , Ramilaben Bara and Abhay Bhardwaj took place.

BJP captured 3 out of 4 seats in Gujarat. Elections for four Rajya Sabha seats in Gujarat took place on 19th  June 2020.