Entertainment Headline News Special Top Stories

Dadasaheb Phalke International Film Awards 2023: The Kashmir Files gets best film award

On Monday Dadasaheb Phalke International Film Awards 2023 were held in Mumbai with the Red Carpet being thronged by popular celebrities from Bollywood actors Alia Bhatt and Varun Dhawan to television actors Tejasswi Prakash and Rupali Ganguly, among others.

Bollywood actor Anupam Kher received the Most Versatile Actor of the Year award for the movie ‘The Kashmir Files’, which won the ‘Best Film’ award at the Dadasaheb Phalke International Film Festival on Monday. In addition to receiving the Best Actress award for ‘Gangubai Kathiawadi’, Alia Bhatt also accepted the Best Actor award for ‘Brahmastra’ on behalf of her husband, Ranbir Kapoor.

The Most Promising Actor award went to actor-director Rishab Shetty for his Kannada movie ‘Kantara’. For his role in ‘Bhediya’, Varun Dhawan also took home the Critics’ Choice Award for Best Actor. ‘Anupamaa’, a television series starring Rupali Ganguly, took home the Television Series of The Year prize at the event.

Veteran actor Rekha received recognition for her ‘Outstanding Contribution In The Film Industry’. She wore a golden saree to the occasion and was spotted interacting with Alia, who was wearing a white saree. They kissed, hugged, and posed for photos with the paparazzi. Popular singer and musician Hariharan received recognition for his ‘Outstanding Contribution To The Music Industry.’

Filmmaker Vivek Ranjan Agnihotri expressed his gratitude as his directorial ‘The Kashmir Files’ bagged the Best Film Award. He later tweeted, “This award is dedicated to all the victims of terrorism and to all the people of India for your blessings.”

Highlights of awards

Best Film: The Kashmir Files

Best Director: R Balki for Chup: Revenge of The Artist

Best Actor: Ranbir Kapoor for Brahmastra: Part 1

Best Actress: Alia Bhatt for Gangubai Kathiawadi

Most Promising Actor: Rishab Shetty for Kantara

Critics Best Actor: Varun Dhawan for Bhediya

Film of The Year: RRR

Television Series of The Year: Anupamaa

Most Versatile Actor Of The Year: Anupam Kher for The Kashmir Files

Best Actor In A Supporting Role: Manish Paul for Jugjugg Jeeyo

Outstanding Contribution In The Film Industry: Rekha

Best Web Series: Rudra: The Edge of Darkness

Best Actor In A Television Series: Zain Imam for Fanaa- Ishq Mein Marjawaan

Best Actress In A Television Series: Tejasswi Prakash for Naagin

Best Male Singer: Sachet Tandon for Maiyya Mainu

Best Female Singer: Neeti Mohan for Meri Jaan

Best Cinematographer: PS Vinod for Vikram Vedha

Outstanding Contribution In The Music Industry: Hariharan